15 Sep 2017

Victorian Landcare Awards 2017

The 2017 Victorian Land Care Awards were held at Government House on September 1, hosted by Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria, to honour the achievements of agricultural and environmental champions. The Victorian Coast Council extends congratulations to the all winners for their outstanding achievements and commendations to all nominees for their efforts and commitment to Landcare. 

A special congratulations to the Friends of Beware Reef group, winners of the SureGro Coastcare award! Over the past fifteen years this small band of dedicated divers has made hundreds of boat trips offshore to conduct underwater surveys of marine life at Beware Reef Marine Sanctuary near Cape Conran, and many other sites. Their learnings play an important role in assisting Parks Victoria understand and protect the marine environments. The group has previously been recognised at the 2016 Victorian Coastal Awards for Excellence, hosted by the VCC. 

The photo shows Dale Tunstall (SureGro), Mike Irvine (Parks Victoria), Don Love and John Ariens (Friends of Beware Reef) and Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Lily D'Ambrosio.

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people standing and suit
Photo: Phillip Wierzbowski - Coastcare Victoria Facilitator