Victorian Coastal Council
VCS Home Page
Next Page Page



Structure and Components of the Victorian Coastal Strategy

Purpose of the Victorian Coastal Strategy

Those involved along the coast

Value of the coast

Significant coastal issues and objectives


Hierarchy of principles
Hierarchy of principles for coastal, estuarine and marine environment planning and management:

1. Provide for the protection of significant cultural and environmental values.
2. Undertake integrated planning and provide clear direction for the future.
3. Ensure the sustainable use of natural coastal resources.
4. Ensure suitable development on the coast.

The strategy

Part 1 Provide for the protection of significant environmental and cultural values
1.1 Marine biodiversity and ecosystems
1.2 Wetlands and estuaries
1.3 Onshore biodiversity and ecosystems
1.4 Catchment management and water quality
1.5 Cultural heritage

Part 2 Provide clear direction for the future
2.1 Planning for climate change
2.2 Planning and managing use and development
2.3 Information and research
2.4 Education, awareness and stewardship

Part 3 Ensure the sustainable use of natural coastal resources
3.1 Recreation
---- 3.1.1 Access
---- 3.1.2 Boating
---- 3.1.3 Crown land caravan parks and camping grounds
---- 3.1.4 Coast protection
3.2 Fishing and aquaculture
3.3 Tourism

Part 4 Suitable development on the coast
4.1 Urban coast
4.2 Coastal settlements and communities
4.3 Coastal Crown land buildings and infrastructure
---- 4.3.1 Local ports

4.4 Coastal-dependent industry
4.4.1 Commercial ports
---- 4.4.2 Other significant coastal-dependent land use and development

Implementation and coordination

Actions tables

Acknowledgement of Country and Indigenous Australians
The Victorian Coastal Council respectfully acknowledges the original custodians of what is now known as Victoria; their rich culture, deep affinity with the land and spiritual connection to it.

Cover: Victorian Coastal Strategy 2008

The Victorian Coastal Strategy has been prepared by the Victorian Coastal Council and adopted by the Victorian State Government. The Council is the peak body for the strategic planning and management of Victoria's 2,000 kilometres of coastline and marine environment. Established under the Coastal Management Act 1995, it advises the Minister for Environment and Climate Change on coastal issues. The current members of the Victorian Coastal Council are:

Libby Mears - Chair
Maggie Baron
Matt Boland
Caroline Douglass
Rob Gell
Liz Johnstone
Michael Keough
Duncan Malcolm
Lynn Murrell
John Sweetman
Jennifer Wolcott

The contributions of the following immediate past Victorian Coastal Council members are also acknowledged:
Diane James - past Chair
Neil McCarthy
Genevieve Overell

Published by the Victorian Coastal Council, Melbourne, 2008
Victorian Coastal Council
2/8 Nicholson Street,
East Melbourne, Victoria, 3002
Telephone (03) 9637 9456
Facsimile (03) 9637 8592

© The State of Victoria, Victorian Coastal Council, 2008
This publication is copyright. No part may be reproduced by any process except in accordance with the provisions of the Copyright Act 1968.

Authorised by the Victorian Coastal Council, 2/8 Nicholson St, East Melbourne.

Printed by Stream Solutions.

General disclaimer
This document may be of assistance to you but the State of Victoria and its employees do not guarantee that the publication is without flaw of any kind or is wholly appropriate for your particular purposes and therefore disclaims all liability for any error, loss or other consequence which may arise from you relying on any information in this publication.
ISBN 978-1-74208-697-2 (print)
ISBN 978-1-74208-698-9 (PDF)
ISBN 978-1-74208-699-6 (CD-ROM)

This document was printed on recycled material.

Lead and partner agents

The primary agency (lead agent) accountable for each action is listed first, in bold, followed by the major stakeholders (partner agents) who will assist the lead agency in completing or implementing that action: e.g. (DSE, CMA, PV, CoM).

Listed agencies include all their divisions and delegation, and a specific division may be included in brackets after the agency. Not all organisations or groups who will be involved or consulted can be listed as there are so many, but we acknowledge the vital role that other groups will play in informing and achieving these actions.

AAV Aboriginal Affairs Victoria
CES Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability
CMA Catchment Management Authorities
This refers to all or one of the five catchment management authorities that border the coast.
CoM Committees of Management
This refers to bodies delegated under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 to manage defined parcels of Crown land, and includes appointed volunteer committees, Local Government (where they are Committee of Management), and other delegated bodies under the Act.
DIIRD Department of Innovation, Industry and Regional Development
DPC Department of Premier and Cabinet
DPCD Department of Planning and Community Development
DPI Department of Primary Industries
DSE Department of Sustainability and Environment
EPA Environment Protection Authority
ESTA Emergency Services Telecommunications Authority
HV Heritage Victoria
LG Local Government
This refers to Local Government in their capacity as planners and providers of significant infrastructure and services across both private and public land, local by-law regulators, and as the level of Government representing the local community.
LPA Local Port Authority
MSV Marine Safety Victoria
MW Melbourne Water
This refers to Melbourne Water in their capacity as manager of Melbourne's water supply catchments, sewage treatment, rivers, creeks and major drainage systems throughout the Port Phillip and Westernport region.
OVGA Office of the Victorian Government Architect
PV Parks Victoria
This refers to Parks Victoria in their role as the custodian of a diverse estate of significant parks on the coast in Victoria and of the recreational management of Port Phillip Bay and Western Port. These parks include National Parks and coastal parks, as well as Marine National Parks and Marine Sanctuaries.
RCB Regional Coastal Boards
Includes the Western Coastal Board (WCB), Central Coastal Board (CCB) and Gippsland Coastal Board (GCB).
TV Tourism Victoria
VCC Victorian Coastal Council
VWA Victorian Water Authorities
This refers to all or some of the water authorities whose area of responsibility borders the coast.

Logo: Victorian Coastal Council 10 December 2008